All About Symbian Forums

All About Symbian Forums (http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/forum/index.php)
-   Nokia N95 and N95 8GB (http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=91)
-   -   What Does No Gateway Reply Mean (http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/forum/showthread.php?t=58445)

ed0902 09-04-2007 10:48 PM

What Does No Gateway Reply Mean
 
What Does "no Gateway Reply" Mean When I Cannot Open A Webpage With My N95 And This Message Pops Up.

N/A 10-04-2007 05:35 AM

It means that the default router (gateway) does not reply (cannot be reached) for some reason or another. If you're using WLAN/Wi-Fi, it is the WLAN access point/router you're connected to, in all likelihood.

I've read someone say that they resolved this by changing the radio channel on their WLAN router (how that is done depends on whose router you have).

jonstatt 10-04-2007 07:43 PM

No gateway reply can appear as a result of a timeout, such as if your phone is transitioning between 3G and 2G...it can take just long enough to cause this error to occur. Just try to access the page a second time and you should be fine.

Jonathan

waxup 23-01-2008 01:13 PM

You get this error when you're not connected to your gateway, Ie wireless router.
You have to change your configuration and the best way to resolve this issue is to assign your phone a static IP rather than have it receive one from your router as it's probably not acting as a DHCP server.

make sure you have wireless networking enabled through your router by loging into it's console from your pc by typing it's IP address into your browser (ie 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.0.1 etc.. depending on manufacturer) and type admin as username and no password (again depending on manufacturer) or try admin as both user and password.

then go into your phone and navigate to "tools> settings > connection > access points" select your access point that you are trying to use and continue to "options> advanced settings> IPv4 settings> IP address" and enter (again depending on your setup take the first three numbers IE 192.168.1. of your router (the same one you put in your browser on the pc to log into the console)) and change the last set to 120 so that you have 192.168.1.120 (or 192.168.0.120 etc.)

Now goto "subnet mask" and enter 255.255.255.0
under "default gateway" enter your routers ip address (the same one that you put in your browser on the pc to log into the console) usually 192.168.1.1

and keep "dns address" to automatic, or you could put in the routers address again (192.168.1.1 typically)

If you are still having issues, please pm me.

razmataz 23-01-2008 07:16 PM

^ Amen to that !

rottie 23-01-2008 08:29 PM

I was getting this message a lot on T-Mobile Web'n'Walk so it's not just wi-fi


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:30 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.