All About Symbian Forums

All About Symbian Forums (http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/forum/index.php)
-   Series 60 (http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   BBC iPlayer for S60 goes live... with caveats (http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/forum/showthread.php?t=76404)

Berty 03-10-2008 03:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 394062)
Thanks for the info on how to get BBC iplayer working on my N82, however, an update has become available today (1.50) and when I overwrote the BBC iplayer files my phone is not recognised again. Is there a PC link for the new version so that I can adjust the .js file for my phone?

Looking for the same myself. Sound like you can save files now for 7 days, and 3G access. A step in the right direction!

Unregistered 03-10-2008 03:52 PM

Works on my E90 with 210 firmware - had to unzip and change the javascript file, as described above. Just search for 'n95' and add '|e90' to the end of the string. I used windows to zip and unzip it (Windows XP) and renamed the file - that worked fine.

It seems to play at a good resolution and frame rate in full screen mode over wireless. I've no intention of trying 3G!

Thanks, BBC!

singhfx 03-10-2008 03:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Berty (Post 394064)
Looking for the same myself. Sound like you can save files now for 7 days, and 3G access. A step in the right direction!


FIRSTLY: for FEATURE NOT SUPPORTED ISSUE.... u need to zip only the second iplayer folder.... so its (IPLAYER->SUB FOLDERS)
feature not supported happens wen u zip like this: (IPLAYER->IPLAYER->SUB FOLDERS)

SECONDLY: for latest v1.50 go to 3 w's... bbc.co.uk/mobile/iplayer/iplayer.wgz




Hint: SUBFOLDERS is the folders which consist of "JS" & "IMG" & "CSS"

Unregistered 03-10-2008 04:22 PM

When I access iplayer on my n95 8gb it says there is an update available (today 031008). I only installed it yesterday! Any idea what the update is...I dont want to install an update which might mess up iplayer. Its still working fine...without the update!

Unregistered 03-10-2008 04:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 394075)
When I access iplayer on my n95 8gb it says there is an update available (today 031008). I only installed it yesterday! Any idea what the update is...I dont want to install an update which might mess up iplayer. Its still working fine...without the update!

DONT UPGRADE YET.... i did it... BUT, it has wifi errors... yet v1 playes fine....

although 1.5 has radio, and u can keep programmes for 7 days.... however 1.5 is a BETA.... although it is much faster to navigate, it just WONT play! waiting for next version! shudnt be too long!

Rafe 03-10-2008 04:36 PM

The update adss the ability to stream radio and download and keep shows for 7 days. However the download stuff doesn't seem to work for me (it say that the download is not compatiable with my phone... on N95 8GB. On N78 it seems to think I'm ona 3G access point even when I'm not). Sigh.

Berty 03-10-2008 04:39 PM

Installed the new 1.5 version. Now it asks me to switch to Wifi when it's already on Wifi!! any ideas?

Unregistered 03-10-2008 05:19 PM

i read somewhere that the beeb don't have the rights to download the radio progs and it only streams on some networks. i think they said downloads only work on the n96 too. dunno why.

Unregistered 03-10-2008 06:11 PM

Tried it with N81 8GB. I get the front screen, it says iPlayer BETA and then Home, TV, Radio, Search boxes but nothing else

Unregistered 03-10-2008 06:19 PM

bbc iplayer app have been updated to version 1.5 Beta
new features include:
tv download (stored in the gallery and expire after 7 days)
radio streaming
streaming over some 3G networks

Unregistered 03-10-2008 06:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 394093)
bbc iplayer app have been updated to version 1.5 Beta
new features include:
tv download (stored in the gallery and expire after 7 days)
radio streaming
streaming over some 3G networks

BUT, its a useless BETA.... version 1 worked fine although slower to navigate...

Xellotath 03-10-2008 07:07 PM

Still getting "please switch to Wifi connection" when i try to watch something over 3.5g here on the n96, with Vodafone.

ceanth 03-10-2008 07:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xellotath (Post 394104)
Still getting "please switch to Wifi connection" when i try to watch something over 3.5g here on the n96, with Vodafone.



Im getting the same thing when trying to run via WIFI.



:con?

Unregistered 03-10-2008 10:53 PM

e51
 
does anyone know if this will work on the e51? Does it support .wgz?

Unregistered 04-10-2008 02:06 AM

N82
 
This is doing my head in!

I want this on my N82 and i have tried doing what a previous comment said about ziping files etc. for over 4 hours now and nothing will work.

Can anyone help me or send me the file already worked on?

if you can please email me at mike@mi-shake.com

Thank you all very much.

Berty 04-10-2008 07:14 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 394122)
This is doing my head in!

I want this on my N82 and i have tried doing what a previous comment said about ziping files etc. for over 4 hours now and nothing will work.

Can anyone help me or send me the file already worked on?

if you can please email me at mike@mi-shake.com

Thank you all very much.

Download 7-Zip. Easy way to edit the achive.

I'm stuck with the 1.5 Beta for now, I'll wait for the next issue. My whole point of wanting this program is to save some files using my home wifi to watch while I'm out and about without incuring high data costs.

Unregistered 04-10-2008 09:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Berty (Post 394129)
Download 7-Zip. Easy way to edit the achive.

I'm stuck with the 1.5 Beta for now, I'll wait for the next issue. My whole point of wanting this program is to save some files using my home wifi to watch while I'm out and about without incuring high data costs.

Thank you for this but i still cant get it to work.

Has anyone got this working on a N82 if so let me know exactly how to do it...Please, please!!

mike@mi-shake.com

confucious 04-10-2008 11:13 AM

OK. Edited file and inserted e90 (not nokiae90) and it seemed to work but wanted a wifi connection. Then edited again (really easy using 7zip) to fix the wifi problem and it seems to connectover 3.5G OK but every program I try and watch I just get "Sorry, this program is currently unavailable"

Nokia e90, T-Mobile W'n'W Plus.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Unregistered 04-10-2008 11:26 AM

Same problem here on my N82
 
i get exactly the same problem. Not sure why yet though.

osymoko 04-10-2008 12:13 PM

iplayer experience on n95
 
what i've found on n95 8gb three v20:

iplayer 1.0 worked on wifi only to log in, but realplayer then streamed with 3 as default (or wifi if set as realplayer default)

v1.5 works on "play" with 3 from start to finish (and also wifi)

however new download option starts but then can't recognise the DRM when completed and so is not stored.

likely conclusion => 3 is allowing network streaming that perhaps vodaphone doesn't, but n95 8gb does not have the required drm funcitonality that the n96 has.

Any way round this drm issue?

tgdub 04-10-2008 01:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 394091)
Tried it with N81 8GB. I get the front screen, it says iPlayer BETA and then Home, TV, Radio, Search boxes but nothing else

I've installed this on my e71 with the suggested mods above and am having the same problem. It allows me to connect via both 3G or wifi but then I just get the iplayer home screen as described.

If anyone can help this would be much appreciated!

unbroken 04-10-2008 02:03 PM

Having added "E71" to the list of supported devices, I got stuck at the home screen. Having changed it to "e71", I now get to the programme selections, but an attempt to play anything (video or audio) gets the "Sorry, this program is currently unavailable" response. This is with both WiFi and 3G connections.

I didn't get a chance to try out the 1.0 version, so I can't say if this is down to my install tweaks or something wrong with the 1.5 Beta. Is this problem just manifesting itself on devices that weren't supposed to be supported, or is it on all devices ?

Unregistered 04-10-2008 03:00 PM

hi guys i have a n81 8gb and have tried editing the bbc iplayer app but still not been able to get it installed. when editing wat is the model number i need to write do i just put in N81 or N818GB im not sure wat to write in or can anyone who can edit the app for me to work for N81 8GB send me the edited app my email is muwahhids@hotmail.com thanks

srbuk 04-10-2008 04:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tgdub (Post 394152)
I've installed this on my e71 with the suggested mods above and am having the same problem. It allows me to connect via both 3G or wifi but then I just get the iplayer home screen as described.

If anyone can help this would be much appreciated!

I edited the app-min.js file on the original version 1.0 as per ajck's instructions and it worked on my e71.

I have downloaded the version 1.5, added "e71" to supported phones in app-min.js but when I select a programmme to watch I get "please switch to Wifi connection" even when connected to WiFi. I would like to get this working so I can listen to radio and download programmes but it's back to V1.0 until this is sorted.

Anyone know what edits are required to resolve this issue?

unbroken 04-10-2008 07:01 PM

For those of us too slow/late to come in before 1.5 was released, does anyone have a link to allow 1.0 to still be downloaded ?

Unregistered 04-10-2008 08:43 PM

Works a treat on my N95 over Orange 3G. My N95 is "debranded" and running the latest version 30.0.015 firmware. Its a brilliant app and the quality is great, I just hope the BBC make it work with more handsets without people having to "hack" the software!

blairj70 04-10-2008 09:36 PM

I'm in the same boat as a fair few here, in that I'm getting the wi-fi message, EVEN when I've set wi-fi as the default access point. Now I'm confused as to whether this is a bug, or I'm doing something wrong, as some people seem to have got it sorted. I realise people cant post the edited file, but is it okay for us poor souls who really need help to get it in order to resolve this issue??

WilliamCB 04-10-2008 10:40 PM

Three things for those editing the 1.0 package before installing, eg on an E71, and a query for the moderator.
1. It is possible to move the package to the phone in an unzipped form and open it with the phone's File Manager. I did this from my Mac. This will get you to the iPlayer mobile Home page, but won't show you any programmes - ie it fails.
2. It seems the package has to be "installed" by the phone. To do this, you must ensure the package is zipped before moving it to the phone. Then ensure the suffix is wgz. Then move to the phone. If you then see a package which ends wgz.zip, you should use the File Manager to rename the package so that it ends wgz. Then double click the package and it will install the player in the "Installations" folder that you access from the Menu button. Then double click that icon to run the player. This works.
3. As far as I can see, the iPlayer and Real Player access point settings are independent of each other.
4. I actually would question the moderator's guidance that modified versions of the iPlayer download should not be passed around. Why not? The BBC has not attached any licence conditions to the software and has made it freely available. With the modified software, not advantage is being gained by the modifiers, no attempt is being made to pass off the work as their own, In fact, the intention is only to do what the BBC is enabling other phone users to do, and the BBC is NOT saying anywhere that users of other phones are forbidden to make use of the service. So what is the problem?

lightbulb 05-10-2008 03:18 AM

Does anyone still have iplayer v1 they could upload somewhere, please? Editing the newer 1.5 to allow 3g access didnt work, all programs come up as unavailable

srbuk 05-10-2008 08:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by unbroken (Post 394180)
For those of us too slow/late to come in before 1.5 was released, does anyone have a link to allow 1.0 to still be downloaded ?


If you let me know your email address I can send it to you.

osymoko 05-10-2008 10:20 AM

Glad it works but....
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 394189)
Works a treat on my N95 over Orange 3G. My N95 is "debranded" and running the latest version 30.0.015 firmware. Its a brilliant app and the quality is great, I just hope the BBC make it work with more handsets without people having to "hack" the software!

Does that mean it works for downloads as well on 1.5, or just the "play" function?

Has anybody got download working and then playing on N95 , or is it a drm issue

confucious 05-10-2008 10:56 AM

Has anyone got this service running over 3G with T-Mobile UK?

The fact that it gets as far as saying that the program is not available, I am wondering if the problem lies with the real Player settings. Does T require a proxy? What UDP ports need to be open?

If anyone has it working could you please post Real player settings.

Thanks

Unregistered 05-10-2008 02:58 PM

E-mail
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by srbuk (Post 394219)
If you let me know your email address I can send it to you.

Hi Could you also please send me the Mobile Iplayer V1 as V1.5 isn't working for me Thanks.

sam_r_no1 at hotmail dot com

Unregistered 05-10-2008 03:01 PM

Sorry
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 394273)
Hi Could you also please send me the Mobile Iplayer V1 as V1.5 isn't working for me Thanks.

sam_r_no1 at hotmail dot com


Sorry thats sam_r_no1 at hotmail dot co.uk

I put .com in the last post by accident.

unbroken 05-10-2008 03:37 PM

I give up ! I've been sent a copy of 1.0, pre-hacked for an E71 (you know who you are: thanks !), and even that won't work now - it links thru from the iPlayer app to the Real player, but Real then times out and can't download the content stream.

I've trawled through the 1.5 code and it seems to be rejecting the programme selection because of a problem with the programme id - I don't understand the app well enough to know why this should be a specific problem for the E71.

Perhaps there was a reason after all why the Beeb restricted the application to only three Nokia handsets...

If anyone has good knowledge of javascript and the iPlayer app, and if they've got some spare time, then I'd be delighted if they could work out a hack. Sadly, it'll be too late for my long plane flight this evening...

Best of luck to all.

blairj70 05-10-2008 05:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by srbuk (Post 394219)
If you let me know your email address I can send it to you.

Hi srbuk, I've sent you my email address by private message (I'm not being pushy, just that I never check to see if I've got private message!). Thanks mate!

srbuk 05-10-2008 08:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by unbroken (Post 394284)
I give up ! I've been sent a copy of 1.0, pre-hacked for an E71 (you know who you are: thanks !), and even that won't work now - it links thru from the iPlayer app to the Real player, but Real then times out and can't download the content stream.

I've trawled through the 1.5 code and it seems to be rejecting the programme selection because of a problem with the programme id - I don't understand the app well enough to know why this should be a specific problem for the E71.

Perhaps there was a reason after all why the Beeb restricted the application to only three Nokia handsets...

If anyone has good knowledge of javascript and the iPlayer app, and if they've got some spare time, then I'd be delighted if they could work out a hack. Sadly, it'll be too late for my long plane flight this evening...

Best of luck to all.


Hi, to me it sounds like a problem with either realplayer or maybe the network. I have V1.0 working fine on my E71 over Wi-Fi so it certainly isn't an issue with the E71. Are you trying to connect over Wi-Fi or 3G? Also, I assume you are in the UK!?

nparayo 05-10-2008 09:38 PM

my situation:

N82, only came in on beta 1.5 install worked sent to phone via bloetooth, installed on phone, App opens nothing loads just stuck on home screen no content shows (used wifi).

Then did the change java script to include N82. Installed fine. App loaded fine selected WIFI fine, programmes list comes up selected one but says "need to switch to wifi to play" but i am on WIFI even in real settings its wifi.

Unregistered 05-10-2008 09:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nparayo (Post 394320)
my situation:

N82, only came in on beta 1.5 install worked sent to phone via bloetooth, installed on phone, App opens nothing loads just stuck on home screen no content shows (used wifi).

Then did the change java script to include N82. Installed fine. App loaded fine selected WIFI fine, programmes list comes up selected one but says "need to switch to wifi to play" but i am on WIFI even in real settings its wifi.

-----

You need to edit the file further. Read the earlier posts around pages 2 to 5. But i wouldn't bother, it still doesnt' work. Even after doing it, it says 'this program is unavailble' on all programs.

Unregistered 05-10-2008 09:55 PM

can anybody email me 1.0 software. 1.5 beta isn't working.

birmingham43 (at) hotmail.com

many thanks in advanced


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:38 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.