All About Symbian Forums

All About Symbian Forums (http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/forum/index.php)
-   Series 60 (http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   BBC iPlayer for S60 goes live... with caveats (http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/forum/showthread.php?t=76404)

nparayo 05-10-2008 10:17 PM

can someone upload the unedited v1.0, thats allowed right?

neilhoskins 06-10-2008 08:29 AM

FWIW, I tried the new beta on my N95-1. The downloading gives the reported problems, but the streaming suddenly started working. For the first time I can stream BBC video content, both iPlayer and BBC News. I didn't make any changes to the handset or my router. Could be something my adsl provider has done or something the BBC have done.

Unregistered 06-10-2008 09:49 AM

trying to get connected to 3G ON n96 ?
 
Hello there there, I hope there isa so0meone out there that can help. after having installed the BBCi application to my n96 all i seem to get is a message saying "please switch to wi-fi to play this programme"
It will not let me me connect to my 3G connection, does anyone know anyway I can get it to connect to my 3G signal ?
Any suggestions would be a great help.
Thanks

m15chief 06-10-2008 01:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by confucious (Post 394139)
OK. Edited file and inserted e90 (not nokiae90) and it seemed to work but wanted a wifi connection. Then edited again (really easy using 7zip) to fix the wifi problem and it seems to connectover 3.5G OK but every program I try and watch I just get "Sorry, this program is currently unavailable"

Nokia e90, T-Mobile W'n'W Plus.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Same problem here, but I'm using an n95-8GB on Voda so I only had to edit the wi-fi part. I've tried changing access points in real player, but still get the same error every time.

srw985 06-10-2008 08:28 PM

I edited to get it working on i8510 and it worked. Edited further to allow 3G now it wont work at all

0lly18 08-10-2008 07:18 AM

Hey guys, not got access to a pc to use 7zip, could anyone email a fixed wgz file for an e90, tried editing on the phone itself but it doesn't seem to zip it back properly keep getting the "feature not supported error"

Thanks guys oliver.birch@hotmail dot com

Unregistered 08-10-2008 02:55 PM

v1.0
 
Does anyone have a link for the v1.0 software? Mods on 1.5, using N82 yield error" program unavailable".

Alternatively, if some kind soul can email me the link dannieboy69 @ hotmail.com

Mucho gracius

alexp86 08-10-2008 09:55 PM

Official explanation of why downloads don't work and why N95 isn't supported:

Quote:

Separate to the above "sideloading" proposition, which is available today, our Mobile team is in the final stages of development of a download proposition for Nokia N96 devices that will also allow you to download programmes "over the air" to your Nokia N96 - i.e., to download directly from the BBC iPlayer site to your phone, without needing to download to your PC first.

These Nokia devices support Open Mobile Alliance (OMA) DRM - so, to make BBC iPlayer content available on those devices, we've built an OMA DRM service. Accordingly, we've now added OMA to the list of rights protection technologies supported by the BBC iPlayer, which should allow us to, in due course and where technically feasible, make BBC iPlayer programmes available on a whole new class of mobile phones and other devices that support the OMA content protection standard.

Incidentally, we are not supporting the N95 and a selection of other Symbian devices (despite what you may have read on some blogs) so any use of the widget on these devices would be unauthorised. The N95 plus some other devices do not automatically carry the browser's current network connection settings over to the phone's media player. This means that you could select Wi-Fi on the browser, but unknowingly end up watching streams over 3G connections. If you do this, you could accidentally rack up some pretty huge bills. We will let you know if this situation changes.
-From "BBC Internet Blog"
http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/bbcintern..._portable.html

Unregistered 09-10-2008 08:24 AM

After doing all the hacks mentioned on an N82...

> Even after doing it, it says 'this program is unavailble' on all programs

I can confirm that's what I'm seeing, too, despite setting everything to WiFi. Is this what we're stuck with, then, until Nokia and / or the BBC sort out DRM issues between them?

dez_borders 09-10-2008 09:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ajck (Post 393582)
To work on other handsets than n95, n96, n78:

Download the iplayer.wgz file...
Alex
phonething.com

Hi Alex (& all!),

Do you know if anyone has iPlayer working on an N82 (with V30 FW) ?
(I know I am in the wrong forum area, but there's nobody to talk to in the N82 one)

I performed your modification, and now have iPlayer installed and successfully displaying the Index of available content.
When I select a video stream and click play-now, RealPlayer is launches but then a message pops up "unable to play video clip".
I have configured RP to permanently use my home Wi-Fi router Access Point.
Is there anything else required? e.g. Changes to Wi-Fi router firewall to allow incoming UDP stream, etc.?
Is there something missing from the N82 V30 FW that's present in N95 V30 FW?

Any help appreciated!

Dez

dez_borders 09-10-2008 09:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by srbuk (Post 394219)
If you let me know your email address I can send it to you.

Hi srbuk,

I sent you my email by PM.

Thanks in advance,

Dez

confucious 09-10-2008 09:28 PM

Still doesn't work on T-Mob (UK) on an E90 with today's firmware :(

caspar_g 10-10-2008 05:04 PM

caspar_g
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 393915)
Dude I had that problem first, i did a number of things to resolve it. I got the feature message thing.

Send me an email on ghazan@gmail.com and Ill send you the updated wgz file which will work fine.

I wondered of you can help

I have followed the instructions to get the iplayer to work on my E71. I now get further but it comes up with the Wifi programmes error.
I want to use Wifi
My Nokia borwser uses my hiomne wifi and works
My realplayer is set to use my home wifi and works - tested using youtube/mobile
I select the same wifi whne starting iplayer
Does anyone have any tips for this

thanks

Caspar

Jkjassal 11-10-2008 12:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by caspar_g (Post 395203)
I wondered of you can help

I have followed the instructions to get the iplayer to work on my E71. I now get further but it comes up with the Wifi programmes error.
I want to use Wifi
My Nokia borwser uses my hiomne wifi and works
My realplayer is set to use my home wifi and works - tested using youtube/mobile
I select the same wifi whne starting iplayer
Does anyone have any tips for this

thanks

Caspar

Hi Casper, did you get a rsolution to the "Switch ti wifi" problem. I am also trying to use home WLAN which Nokia browser uses and even heard some BBC Radio via "Real Player". However whenever I open IPlayer on E71 (its an O2 network handet), I get the message to switch to WiFi. Only option seems to be to EXIT. Any advice will be appreciated. The WGZ file I used was the one I created following advice in this forum to include the e71 in the supported phones string and copied to phone using Nokia PC Suite.

JJ

Unregistered 12-10-2008 12:06 PM

E71 version 1.0 and 1.5
 
Right,
i have done some testing and these are MY results

with version 1.0 if you edit the allowed devices and add e71 to it . it will work over wifi. it will not work over 3g

With versions 1.5 beta you need to make two changes first add the e71 to the list of devices as in version 1.0

second you need to allow 3g connections this is described inpages 2-5 of this thread.

if you only do the fist edit you get the wifi error message, even though you may be trying to access it through wifi.

if you make the second edit you get a new messge saying the programme is unavailable.

this is as far as i have got... I have seen vido showing iplayer working on an e71 reportedly over a 3 connection, is this correct? as anyone actually got the ilaye version 1,5 working over 3g on an E71?

jshumphries 12-10-2008 12:21 PM

hi, can someone email me (john at humphries.co.uk) version 1 of the player. At least then i'll be able to stream using my n82. Many thanks, John

surfshag 12-10-2008 03:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jshumphries (Post 395411)
hi, can someone email me (john at humphries.co.uk) version 1 of the player. At least then i'll be able to stream using my n82. Many thanks, John


Its on its way.

Gary

toprock66 12-10-2008 04:04 PM

e71 v bbci player - Can you help?
 
New to symbian and would really like the iplayer - managed to get it working across wireless lan but really want that 3g access. i'm getting the wifi only error message

Could one of you please email the fixed wgz for e71 with 3g access enabled?

im on the 3 network

I'd really appreciate it, Chris

toprock66 at hotmail dot com

toprock66 12-10-2008 04:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by beardyweirdy (Post 393944)
@ghazan - check your email, I've sent you a copy of the wgz file I used. Hope it works OK for you too.

New to symbian and would really like the iplayer - managed to get it working across wireless lan but really want that 3g access. i'm getting the wifi only error message

Could one of you please email the fixed wgz for e71 with 3g access enabled?

im on the 3 network

I'd really appreciate it, Chris

toprock66 at hotmail dot com
toprock66@hotmail.com

Unregistered 12-10-2008 05:27 PM

iplayer
 
hi,try dragging the completed file into drag and drop content box on pc suite then find the file on the phone and install it that way. it worked for me.

AzzAzzo 12-10-2008 05:40 PM

E71
 
I have edited the java script to add e71 and changed the {_state="STATE_IS_MEDIA_AVAILABLE";return mediaSelector.mtis(_versionPid)} line, now I get every programme saying "SOrry, this programme is unavailable at the moment"

Anyone else getting this?

AzAzzo 12-10-2008 06:22 PM

E71 owners. Here you go!

http://url.ie/r4e

Unregistered 13-10-2008 07:23 AM

following on from my previous message:

if you perform step 1 and 2 on version 1 then you can use an e71 to stream over 3g

i can't get it working with version 1.5


i have it working with version 1

Unregistered 13-10-2008 09:01 AM

N82 user with problems
 
Hi I'm a user with an N82 on Orange and 1.5 continues to elude me streaming with it, does anyone have a copy of v1 I can also have? myshra_uk at hotmail.com if you do, I would be most in your debt. Thanks.

Unregistered 13-10-2008 09:14 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 395501)
following on from my previous message:

if you perform step 1 and 2 on version 1 then you can use an e71 to stream over 3g

i can't get it working with version 1.5


i have it working with version 1

I had it working with 3g, but after connecting with wifi I get the same error every time I try to reconnect with 36...."Programmes must be viewed over a wifi...." This is on v1.0

Unregistered 13-10-2008 01:00 PM

Download
 
Anyone able to download the shows? I get unable to play this content type, although it does successfully activate a key.

widget2 13-10-2008 01:00 PM

Has anyone managed to download BBC programmes and view them on their mobiles?

I've managed to install the iplayer (v 1.5) widget on N95 8GB (on Voda) and to stream video via WiFi but downloading is proving a pain. I get the connection and the download starts until 100% and then strangely an error message pops up saying 'Unable to download <filename>.3gp'!

Anyone can help?

Thanks

scott.herring 13-10-2008 02:19 PM

Hi,

I am on N95 8GB and would like ver 1.0.... can anybody please post a link for this OR email it to sexyskot@hotmail.com

Thanks very much

Unregistered 13-10-2008 04:04 PM

BBC iPlayer
 
Hi could someone please email me the bbc iPlayer v 1.0? I have tried 1.5 and it will not play on my i8510.

Please email to mcfusion786 AT hotmail .com

Thank you very much!

Abbas.

Unregistered 13-10-2008 05:08 PM

e71 issue
 
it was working fine on my e71 but now when trying to connect with 3g on three network i get the infamous only wifi error. anyone help - email me at harrylad @ hotmail . com

caspar_g 13-10-2008 06:10 PM

JK,
The answer is no.
Googling around it appears that V1.5 of iplayer.wgz, even with the edits, does not work. It appears that we need V1.0 of iplayer.wgz. I have no idea where to get this.
Could anyone upload this? - even in orginal form?

Thanks

Caspar

caspar_g 13-10-2008 06:11 PM

Thanks for this.
Do you know where I can get the version 1.0?
Caspar

Unregistered 15-10-2008 11:38 AM

To the people who are looking for v1.0..... here it is!....

http://url.ie/r4e

Unregistered 15-10-2008 11:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 395888)
To the people who are looking for v1.0..... here it is!....

http://url.ie/r4e

And it does work. I am streaming over 3g on my E71 without any problems

tgdub 15-10-2008 01:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 395889)
And it does work. I am streaming over 3g on my E71 without any problems

Ok, here's my problem. I'm using an E71 and downloaded the v1.0 iplayer (thanks for the link AzAzzo) which loads up via 3G or WiFi. I'm then stuck with the same 'needs wifi' message unless I've connected via wifi.

Apologies if I'm being ignorant but was the v1.0 iplayer I installed modded to allow 3G access or not?

To quote 'unregistered' from a different thread:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 395542)
There's really nothing to discuss here :)

S60 IPlayer works *perfectly* on ANY S60 device (AFAIK) with WebRunTime, and perfectly on a 3G device, WiFi is NOT needed.

The edits to make it do this are quick and easy (5 mins tops), and can be found in this thread from the 1st October: http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/forum...ad.php?t=76404

I have had iPlayer running on my 6220 Classic, with no problems (and with the original firmware by the way), since then, and I know it's over 3G as it doesn't have WiFi hardware :)

Am I missing something obvious here?

scott.herring 15-10-2008 02:23 PM

I am using N95 8GB, i have version 1.0 and am also getting the wifi only message.

Please can somebody advise me exactly what i need to do to be able to stream over 3G.

Thanks very much

markyc 15-10-2008 03:08 PM

Scott, read page 2 of this thread...

scott.herring 15-10-2008 03:17 PM

Hi, just read page 2... it says for handsets OTHER THAN n95.

Should i be reading Beardyweirdy's post on page 4??? Is that what you meant to point me to? Page 2 doesn't explain how to get rid of the wifi message.

I will try and follow the instructions from page 4 tonight!

Unregistered 16-10-2008 04:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by scott.herring (Post 395919)
I will try and follow the instructions from page 4 tonight!

I have downloaded version 1.5.0 from BBC's website. This is the only one I have ever downloaded and have made no modifications to it. My phone is N95 8GB with v.30 firmware on 3UK.

I have had no problems in running the application via wi-fi or 3g. Both work equally well and have had no errors in playing any media. Hero wasn't available but that is down to the BBC rather than the phone.

For those who don't know how to install to the N95 8GB here are the instructions:
1. Click on this link and save the file http://www.bbc.co.uk/mobile/iplayer/iplayer.wgz
2. Transfer the file using Nokia PC Suite to install the app on the phone
3. Go to the file manager and select the memory card to browse
4. Go to the bottom where it has a 'Widget' folder
5. Open the widget folder and install the iplayer.wgz file
6. Go to applications (under menu) and run the application

Unregistered 16-10-2008 06:30 PM

N82
 
The N82 is where its at but both the iplayers install on the phone but there doesn't seem to be any content!


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:05 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.