All About Symbian Forums

All About Symbian Forums (http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/forum/index.php)
-   Series 60 (http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   The Nokia 5530 gets a v20 update (http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/forum/showthread.php?t=91488)

slitchfield 14-12-2009 09:32 AM

The Nokia 5530 gets a v20 update
 
There are plenty of reports of firmware updates for Nokia smartphones over the last few days from various world regions, watch this space for more. New today (screengrab below) is v20.0.080 for the Nokia 5530 Xpress Music (you know, the smallest S60 5th Edition one), weighing in at 140MB via Nokia Software Update and rolling out Over The Air as I write this. All these Nokia devices should preserve all data, apps and settings, but an extra sync/backup might be a good idea, as usual?

Read on in the full article.

Rita El Khoury 14-12-2009 10:03 AM

Actually the 5530XM was the first S60 5th phone to have kinetic scrolling implemented in all windows, in browser, contacts, music player and gallery, even before the v2 update for the N97 or the N97 mini's release 8-|

Unregistered 14-12-2009 10:24 AM

Wrong, no kinetic scrolling in main menu
 
Kinetic scrolling seems to be everywhere but not in the applications menu.
Also, ,you saying updated OVi maps....there is no OVI maps preinstalled on this phone,
i know cause i got it.

Regards

slitchfield 14-12-2009 10:56 AM

Yes, I meant that v20 doesn't imply that ALL screens now have kinetic scrolling, as on the N97. Having to use a fiddly scroll bar in a large list of Apps still grates.... 8-(

And, interestingly, my 5530 has Maps installed now. Hmm.... I don't *think* I manually put it on when I got the phone a month or so ago. I'm 90% sure it appeared with v20. Can anyone else provide data points here? My 5530 is an unbranded, unlocked model, of course.

Unregistered 14-12-2009 11:04 AM

5530XM has kinetic scrolling in browser? I don't think so Rita, check again. It's same stupid scrolling as in a 5800XM.

Unregistered 14-12-2009 11:05 PM

Even on the n97 v2.0 there is a couple places where there is no kinetic scrolling.

Its usually the pop up information menus. In Update, the info menu about each update does't have it. And in the installled applications, the info menu about each app installed doesn't have.

So maybe they forgot that type of menu.

LiquidFer 14-12-2009 11:08 PM

Kynetic Scrolling
 
It does have Kynetic Scrolling since day one on the browser, this firmware added some stuff

Ovi Maps
Ovi Store (my last firmware didn't had the store installed)
Nokia Music
Ovi Contacts (wich I don't use)
A better scrolling contacts bar
More free ram 42 mb, it was 37

Unregistered 15-12-2009 06:12 AM

ram
 
Does 5530 gives an low ram errors? Should not it if it still has 42ish mb free ram on boot up which is comparable to that on n97 or n97 mini? I read somewhere that 5530 didnt have ram problems.

slitchfield 15-12-2009 07:28 AM

It's all about expectations. Used as a phone and lightweight apps, a 5530 will NEVER show a RAM message/error.

The N97/N97 mini, on the other hand, is used as a power tool by geeks (like me) and we do keep hammering the processor and RAM and expecting it to be monstrous. And we end up being a bit disappointed.

Oh if Nokia had only fitted 256MB to the N97....

mob453 15-12-2009 10:56 PM

what product codes is this for as it does not tell me an update is available, unbranded from CPW

Unregistered 16-12-2009 12:58 AM

Hi Steve,
I cant find the article which you wrote quite some time ago in which you compared diagrams of screen sizes by overlying them over each other. Each unique screen size had a different color and it created a good reference chart for comparing different display sizes.

I have a n95-8gb which had a 2.8 inch display. I wanted to explore S60 5th edition without shelling too much money. Hence the only options are 5800, 5530 and 5230. Wifi is a must for me as I dont use 3g net (financial issues). 5230 is hence out of the picture. I need kinetic scrolling and stable software and in that regards 5530 takes over 5800. The only downside I feel that 5530 has its 2.9 inch screen compared to the 3.2 on 5800. Wanted to know how much difference does it make? Also is 2.9 inch on 5530 a bit more longer than it is supposed to be when compared to the one on N95 8gb as 5530 is less wide compared to N958gb and that would mean more length to compensate for a shrunken diagonal. Please let me know.

Unregistered 16-12-2009 01:08 AM

embrace for a rant. I hate Nokia's illogical strategies when they release their "flagships." Specifically in regards to N86. Would it have been problematic if they made that display 2.8 inches? Heck, even fitting a 3.0 inches was possible... Why did they degrade an otherwise "upgrade" model when compared to the likes of N95-8gb in terms of display size? Why does Nokia pick and choose when releasing new models? Especially those with premium prices? Why degrade some aspects from their previous successor and add few more? I would but N86 in a heart beat if it had at least 2.8 inch display and a graphics chip. Now ill wait till it becomes a tad cheaper. Same with 5530! For God's sake keep the display at 3.2 inches and just take that gps/3g out. Why 5230 gets 3.2 inch display .... stupid Nokia but I still love you. Your magic.
end of rant.

mob453 16-12-2009 09:38 AM

Code:

0590959: 5530 XM RM-504 Carphone Warehouse UK GB Black
0590959: 5530 XM RM-504 Carphone Warehouse UK GB Black v2
0591601: 5530 XM RM-504 Carphone Warehouse UK GB Illuvial V2_COLOR

Code:

0587363: 5530 XM RM-504 Country Variant United Kingdom GB CU White/Blue_COLOR
0587353: 5530 XM RM-504 Country Variant United Kingdom GB V1 Black/Red
0587353: 5530 XM RM-504 Country Variant United Kingdom GB V2 Black/Red

why oh why have cpw got their own variant?

and I have just ran the 6 above product codes through nokias can I update and they all say latest update is v11

Code:

0573150: RM-504 Euro1 BLACK-RED
the Euro 1 variant is the only one I found so far to have v20

Unregistered 01-01-2010 07:59 PM

hey i have a nokia 5530 but i don't know if i should update it. Is it true that the phone doesn't work properly after updating(gets stuck) ? Please i need help.

Unregistered 02-01-2010 01:11 PM

installer problem
 
i updated, afterthat i cant install or uninstall anything error msg is "installer already in used". i also dont know how can i solve this problem.


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.