All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

Go Back   All About Symbian Forums > News and Comments > Series 60

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

  #1  
Old 02-12-2009, 08:44 PM
slitchfield slitchfield is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,002
slitchfield is on a distinguished road
Google Maps 3.3 syncs your favourites and starred places

Google Maps for Symbian just got updated to v3.3, with direct syncing support for your 'starred' places (to the full Web version of Google Maps). In addition, on the first sync, your Nokia/Ovi Maps favourites also get uploaded. You can get v3.3 by going to m.google.com in Web on your phone. There are a couple of screenshots after the break.

Read on in the full article.

  #2  
Old 02-12-2009, 08:49 PM
slitchfield slitchfield is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,002
slitchfield is on a distinguished road
Interestingly, the 'Layers' function crashes the app on my device now. Working for anyone else? Maybe it's a conflict with Maps Booster? Hmm..... Comments welcome!
__________________
Steve Litchfield, Admin, AAS

  #3  
Old 02-12-2009, 09:10 PM
dmcconachie's Avatar
dmcconachie dmcconachie is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 72
dmcconachie is on a distinguished road
Same problem for me Steve! :(

  #4  
Old 02-12-2009, 09:53 PM
Vayada
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
"Layers" work OK on my Nokia 5800.
Ads

  #5  
Old 02-12-2009, 09:56 PM
davidgilson's Avatar
davidgilson davidgilson is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 119
davidgilson is on a distinguished road
Layers works fine for me on my E55 (haven't updated my firmware).

I have some issues with this, I've got my landmarks sync'd up to Google as "starred items", but then you don't seem to be able to do very much with them once you log into maps.google.co.uk. You can't even edit them.

I also tried going into Ovi Maps to create a new location, after having uploaded to Google Maps. Then I reset Google Maps completely, and started again, but it failed to sync my test location.

I'm sure this is an improvement, but I'm failing to see the use if I can't change these starred items, either on the mobile or web.
__________________
Writer for All About Symbian
Find me on: My Blog | Twitter | Facebook

Last edited by davidgilson; 02-12-2009 at 10:59 PM.

  #6  
Old 02-12-2009, 10:04 PM
Unregistered
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
update

kind of a shame there isn't an update option inside google maps... seems silly to download a new version every time they make a small change.

  #7  
Old 02-12-2009, 10:40 PM
shadamehr's Avatar
shadamehr shadamehr is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Gateshead, UK
Posts: 246
shadamehr is on a distinguished road
Layers Crashes/Errors:

Guys, if you check out the Official Google Mobile Blog at:

http://googlemobile.blogspot.com/200...sync-with.html

You will see LOADS of people complaining of this.

I reckon a new version will be released,. in the next few days, to fix this, given the prevalence of this issue.

For me though, all my Latitude Contact Photos have all been wiped, after installing this new version.

So I'd say this update is a MESS, for sure.
__________________
-
Now on to my 71st mobile handset since my first ever Ericsson (not S.E.) GA688, with the advent of my new HTC Desire Android phone, as Symbian was just too old now (after 67 Nokias)...


  #8  
Old 02-12-2009, 10:43 PM
shadamehr's Avatar
shadamehr shadamehr is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Gateshead, UK
Posts: 246
shadamehr is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by slitchfield View Post
Interestingly, the 'Layers' function crashes the app on my device now. Working for anyone else? Maybe it's a conflict with Maps Booster? Hmm..... Comments welcome!
Indeed, further to my previous post flagging up lots of people getting this Steve, it now seems Google are ASKING for specific examples to be notified to them. From the Google Blog, from one we assume to be and Admin:

"Chris said...

Hi everyone,
If you're experiencing problems with Google Maps version 3.3, can you please report them in the Google Mobile Help Forum:

http://www.google.com/support/forum/...e+Mobile?hl=en

Post a question, tag it with Maps and Windows Mobile or Nokia/Symbian, and include the requested info like your exact phone model so we can help troubleshoot the problem.

If you've reported issues above, please post them in the forum so we can communicate back and forth with you if needed.

Thanks!
Chris"
__________________
-
Now on to my 71st mobile handset since my first ever Ericsson (not S.E.) GA688, with the advent of my new HTC Desire Android phone, as Symbian was just too old now (after 67 Nokias)...


  #9  
Old 02-12-2009, 10:59 PM
davidgilson's Avatar
davidgilson davidgilson is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 119
davidgilson is on a distinguished road
Having just gone back to Google Maps website, I can now see my starred items shown on the map, and that I can star and unstar locations from the speech bubble. I'm going to test making a starred item on the web and seeing if it shows up on my phone, and in turn S60 Landmarks.
__________________
Writer for All About Symbian
Find me on: My Blog | Twitter | Facebook

  #10  
Old 02-12-2009, 11:10 PM
seki's Avatar
seki seki is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 971
seki is on a distinguished road
Beer progress but ..

Now if they'd just institute an OFF-Line mode ..

  #11  
Old 03-12-2009, 07:18 AM
slitchfield slitchfield is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,002
slitchfield is on a distinguished road
The 'Reset Google Maps' option sorted out the Layers problem for me, by the way. But messy of them to have this transition bug in the first place.
__________________
Steve Litchfield, Admin, AAS

  #12  
Old 03-12-2009, 08:17 AM
E51er
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Call me stupid, but how to get it ? Only version 3.2.1 showing for me everywhere.

  #13  
Old 03-12-2009, 08:22 AM
E51er
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Never mind. Using Opera for some reason redirects to 3.2.1, the S60 browser (which I rarely use) points to 3.3.

  #14  
Old 03-12-2009, 09:03 AM
stuclark's Avatar
stuclark stuclark is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,575
stuclark is on a distinguished road
The layers / lattitude bug is a known ongoing problem. The best solution is to load an older version (such as 3.0.1) then reload the latest

  #15  
Old 03-12-2009, 09:07 AM
dmcconachie's Avatar
dmcconachie dmcconachie is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 72
dmcconachie is on a distinguished road
Options -> Tools -> "Reset Google Maps" fixes the Layers issue.
 

Bookmarks

Tags
favourites, google, maps, places, starred, syncs

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 04:26 AM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy