All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 29-04-2004, 12:46 PM
riftweaver riftweaver is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 52
riftweaver is on a distinguished road
how to remove carrier branding?

I bought an N-Gage from EB last night, and it is branded for T-Mobile. I use AT&T.

Is there a way to remove all the T-Mobile specific elements from the N-Gage? I'm assuming that even the factory reset code isn't going to remove that stuff, but maybe I'm wrong.

In particular, I'm looking to get rid of the way that services is called "T-Zones" (as when used on the softkeys) and T-Mobile ringtone(s), along with miscellaneous settings.

Thanks for any info.

--Jason

  #2  
Old 30-04-2004, 06:36 PM
Joe Average Joe Average is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 17
Joe Average is on a distinguished road
The only way to go is to reflash the firmware with some country specific one or one for AT&T (if exists) for example. Don't expect to have more free mem though.

  #3  
Old 14-05-2004, 02:48 PM
Unregistered312
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Cingular N-Gage HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Iva been having the same problem. I just bought an N-Gage and put in my cingular sim card. I know for a fact that cingular works on N-Gage, but the problem is the T-Mobile crap that was already on the N-Gage. How do i get the wap browser to work on my engage? and how do i remove all of the T-Mobile crap off of it?

  #4  
Old 14-05-2004, 08:19 PM
vultura
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I'd say you would need the phone reflashed with a sim-free & unbranded firmware.

You'll need to locate a mobile phone store that can do it for you.

  #5  
Old 15-05-2004, 06:06 PM
sco2001 sco2001 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 266
sco2001 is on a distinguished road
you need to unlock it, carphone warehouse do it for a tenner.
__________________
Against the TCPA

http://www.againsttcpa.com/index.shtml

Ads

  #6  
Old 16-05-2004, 12:12 AM
vultura
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Article

Really, never realised they would be involved with that sco2001.

Don't think they have branches outside the UK yet, as I assume riftweaver is in the US/Canada, being on AT&T.

  #7  
Old 16-05-2004, 08:22 PM
Ismail's Avatar
Ismail Ismail is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Q8
Posts: 1,195
Ismail is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered312
Iva been having the same problem. I just bought an N-Gage and put in my cingular sim card. I know for a fact that cingular works on N-Gage, but the problem is the T-Mobile crap that was already on the N-Gage. How do i get the wap browser to work on my engage? and how do i remove all of the T-Mobile crap off of it?
cingular wont work on n-gage,either will at&t

only tmobile sim cards will work on n-gage

i have tried
__________________
If you can read this, than you can read!

  #8  
Old 16-05-2004, 09:11 PM
Sgt Bilko Sgt Bilko is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1
Sgt Bilko is on a distinguished road
I put a Virgin pay-as-you-go SIM & it works fine.

How do I put ringtones from my PC onto it please?

  #9  
Old 16-05-2004, 10:47 PM
Ismail's Avatar
Ismail Ismail is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Q8
Posts: 1,195
Ismail is on a distinguished road
i tried with at&t and cingular and both didnt work
not sure about virgin or us cellular or sprint
__________________
If you can read this, than you can read!

  #10  
Old 17-05-2004, 01:28 AM
neiltoe neiltoe is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2
neiltoe is on a distinguished road
here is my trick

To remove the oplogo on my ngage. 1st I have t-mobile usa if you are in another country another source is needed for the ota oplogo. I goto me43.com got an account (free of course) they have to test your capabilites of your device N-gage is not listed pick the 3650, they do this via sms. so 1st you will be required to confirm the text message with a simple number. Next is custom service capablitity testing again now here you are offered 2 options select with a picture not a tone. You will recieve a ota oplogo select yes to replace your existing logo. After that you have released the hold on your carrier name all you have to do is use 1 of 3 programs to replace it. seleq, fexplorer, or opman. I prefer opman its more user friendly. take a 97 x 25 (width x height) image and replace it have fun it works great this way and this procedure will have to be repeated everytime you format your phone.
 

Bookmarks

Tags
branding, carrier, remove

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Removing Pre-Installed Apps hugalex Sony Ericsson P800, P900 and P910 5 09-06-2004 11:22 AM
Nokia 3650 Vodafone Branding !!!! Nokia 3650, 3660, and 3620 15 14-07-2003 06:49 PM
Removing Built in Games deggy Sony Ericsson P800, P900 and P910 4 24-03-2003 04:01 AM
problem removing "all nokia 9210i data" access den n1ghtFLY Nokia 9210 and 9290 5 06-03-2003 02:11 PM
Cibenix Announce Branding Solution for Operators Rafe Symbian OS News 4 22-07-2002 03:13 PM



All times are GMT. The time now is 02:42 PM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy