All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 29-06-2007, 04:08 AM
rakem rakem is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6
rakem is on a distinguished road
changing product code and firmware

Recently bought a n95 from ebay. Little did i know when i bought it it was a model from Hong kong. Im in Australia and it doesnt have any Australian access points set up or anything like that.

If i change the product code to the Australian code then update the firmware to v11 will that give me the Australian Access points and all that stuff?

thanks

  #2  
Old 29-06-2007, 04:52 AM
seki's Avatar
seki seki is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 971
seki is on a distinguished road
Beer Um .. Access Points?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rakem View Post
Recently bought a n95 from ebay. Little did i know when i bought it it was a model from Hong kong. Im in Australia and it doesnt have any Australian access points set up or anything like that.

If i change the product code to the Australian code then update the firmware to v11 will that give me the Australian Access points and all that stuff?

thanks
ok first upgrading is a great idea ..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uN9eRlddfH0 << my Youtube vid IF you need to change the product code.
Read the text it has links to all the apps you need.

next Access points ? do you mean Australian maps with Points of Interest?
you need the maploader .. download the Australian map - since the new maploader has new maps to go with it. Upgrading the firmware with Austrlalian code will give you the Aussie map (but I think its loaded by default on all of the codes) - but its not the current version.

Good luck!

  #3  
Old 29-06-2007, 04:57 AM
rakem rakem is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6
rakem is on a distinguished road
na i dont mean for maps i mean for things like MMS and internet access, it only has three access points that i can choose from, which are CSL MMS & CSL Data, CSL WAP.

On my old phone (n73) for my MMS and Internet settings I have the access points set to Virgin MMS and Virgin WAP. None of these are listed on the n95
Ads

  #4  
Old 29-06-2007, 06:00 AM
seki's Avatar
seki seki is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 971
seki is on a distinguished road
Beer ahh

Quote:
Originally Posted by rakem View Post
na i dont mean for maps i mean for things like MMS and internet access, it only has three access points that i can choose from, which are CSL MMS & CSL Data, CSL WAP.

On my old phone (n73) for my MMS and Internet settings I have the access points set to Virgin MMS and Virgin WAP. None of these are listed on the n95
sounds like your service provider - packet service.
CSL a local supplier? it'll be related to the SIM card in the phone. so if you wanna experiment .. put your N73 SIM into your N95

good luck!

  #5  
Old 29-06-2007, 06:05 AM
rakem rakem is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6
rakem is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by seki View Post
sounds like your service provider - packet service.
CSL a local supplier? it'll be related to the SIM card in the phone. so if you wanna experiment .. put your N73 SIM into your N95

good luck!

yea thats whats in there at the moment. I have never heard of CSL. It should list a bunch of Virgin providers since its a virgin sim card....
 

Bookmarks

Tags
changing, code, firmware, product

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E61 Firmware Update, Product code change, Language Effect? fuzzyhaha Nokia Eseries S60 3.0 phones (E50, E60, E62, E61, E61i, E70) 0 14-06-2007 12:42 PM
If i change e61i product code will NSU reflash firmware? cyrusir Nokia Eseries S60 3.0 phones (E50, E60, E62, E61, E61i, E70) 2 08-06-2007 12:37 PM
N95 cannot update to latest firmware Ridwan Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 5 18-05-2007 12:26 PM
what product code do i need for the latest firmware? N73 patrickyuis Nokia N71, Nokia N73 and Nokia N75 4 15-02-2007 01:45 PM
Changing Product Code / Upgrading Firmware z0cool Nokia N71, Nokia N73 and Nokia N75 22 19-01-2007 06:19 PM



All times are GMT. The time now is 02:11 PM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy