All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 03-01-2005, 03:13 PM
pedroabteixeira
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
X stops playing the selected ringtone and starts the alarm tone

I picked up a nice WAV tone with about 500 Kb and selected it as my ringtone.
But when someone calls me the X plays about 5 seconds of the ringtone and then starts playing the alarm tone .

Is it the size of the file thatīs causing this? Any ideas?

  #2  
Old 03-01-2005, 04:58 PM
loa loa is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Grenoble, France
Posts: 19
loa is on a distinguished road
Hi,

I have a similar problem, though the phone plays the default Sendo_Ring after a couple of seconds. Trying to work out why, I have tried several different ringtones and while I have not been able to work out what is going on, the size of the ringtone seems to be nothing to do with it.

Cheers,

Dave

  #3  
Old 03-01-2005, 05:56 PM
cfodesign
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Beer trie that

Quote:
Originally Posted by pedroabteixeira
I picked up a nice WAV tone with about 500 Kb and selected it as my ringtone.
But when someone calls me the X plays about 5 seconds of the ringtone and then starts playing the alarm tone .

Is it the size of the file thatīs causing this? Any ideas?
Trie to put the WAV file in the phone memory. I used to have a similar problem whem I used the MMC


SENDO X

  #4  
Old 03-01-2005, 06:02 PM
pedroabteixeira
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by cfodesign
Trie to put the WAV file in the phone memory. I used to have a similar problem whem I used the MMC


SENDO X

The WAV file is in the phone internal memory.
Thanks anyway.

  #5  
Old 04-01-2005, 01:12 AM
messus's Avatar
messus messus is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tromso, NORWAY
Posts: 288
messus is an unknown quantity at this point
This problem is not Sendo specific. Had the same issue with my 6600 with all
firmwares.

Putting the wav-file in the phone memory eliminates the problem for me at least.
Ads

  #6  
Old 05-01-2005, 05:40 PM
Burcrim Burcrim is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 105
Burcrim is on a distinguished road
I have a similar problem. I have several different ringtones on my phone which have been assigned to different people. But very occasionally it will revert to a default ring tone or the alarm tone if one of these contacts call me.

  #7  
Old 06-01-2005, 02:06 PM
euphoriauk euphoriauk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Solihull, UK
Posts: 102
euphoriauk is on a distinguished road
I have always found it works best if you convert the file to IMA ADPCM wave file using DBpowerAMP Music Converter which is free from http://www.dbpoweramp.com

  #8  
Old 06-01-2005, 03:52 PM
boogieindubai boogieindubai is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 155
boogieindubai is on a distinguished road
i have always used dbpower to convert my ringtones to wav for my x and never had any problems
 

Bookmarks

Tags
alarm, playing, ringtone, selected, starts, stops, tone

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:49 AM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy