All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 13-12-2004, 06:12 PM
polyglot polyglot is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 15
polyglot is on a distinguished road
Wifi problem

Hi guys,

(I searched the forum before posting, but coudn't find any mention of something similar to my problem.
If you can direct me better, please do. Thanks.)

I just bought a new wireless router to browse internet on my 9500 via wifi/LAN.
I installed it, and it takes about 2 seconds to my Sony Clié UX-50 to connect to the internet and it's SOOOOO fast!
At this point, I know I installed the router correctly.

My problem is that the 9500 won't connect, searching for a long time before displaying "Connection failed, couldn't find LAN network".
The weird thing is the 9500 asks me if I want to connect to the USR8054, which is my router, so the router is recognized, as I never gave this info to the 9500.
I'm sure it's a stupid switch somewhere but haven't been able to find it yet.
Anyone?
Thanks
__________________
Polyglot

Nokia 9500
Jabra BT-800
MP3 Vosonic 6230 120GB

  #2  
Old 13-12-2004, 07:30 PM
comfirm.be's Avatar
comfirm.be comfirm.be is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 51
comfirm.be is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by polyglot
The weird thing is the 9500 asks me if I want to connect to the USR8054, which is my router, so the router is recognized, as I never gave this info to the 9500.
I'm sure it's a stupid switch somewhere but haven't been able to find it yet.
I think USR8054 is the name of your WLAN (SSID), your Wireless router publishes that, so it's true you never gave it to your 9500 because its public (if you didn't disable broadcasting SSID though)

Do you have any protection for your WLAN (eg. WEP/WPA )

  #3  
Old 13-12-2004, 07:33 PM
kenkato's Avatar
kenkato kenkato is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Singapore / Malaysia
Posts: 22
kenkato is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by polyglot
Hi guys,

(I searched the forum before posting, but coudn't find any mention of something similar to my problem.
If you can direct me better, please do. Thanks.)

I just bought a new wireless router to browse internet on my 9500 via wifi/LAN.
I installed it, and it takes about 2 seconds to my Sony Clié UX-50 to connect to the internet and it's SOOOOO fast!
At this point, I know I installed the router correctly.

My problem is that the 9500 won't connect, searching for a long time before displaying "Connection failed, couldn't find LAN network".
The weird thing is the 9500 asks me if I want to connect to the USR8054, which is my router, so the router is recognized, as I never gave this info to the 9500.
I'm sure it's a stupid switch somewhere but haven't been able to find it yet.
Anyone?
Thanks
Maybe you can try decreasing the RTS & Fragmentation Threshold . I had a Linksys BEF11S4 & had the same problem but after I reduced them, it worked. Of course, plus I've switched the simultaneous bluetooth OFF.

Cheers.
Ken

  #4  
Old 14-12-2004, 07:20 PM
polyglot polyglot is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 15
polyglot is on a distinguished road
Problem solved

Thanks, guys,

but as I read some bad stories about my USRobotics router,
I went to the shop this morning and exchanged it for
a linksys 2.4 GHz router. I installed it at home and it works like
a charm at first try.
One week after getting my 9500, I today discover the amazing
Opera browser as I write this post from my 9500.
What more can we ask?
__________________
Polyglot

Nokia 9500
Jabra BT-800
MP3 Vosonic 6230 120GB

  #5  
Old 15-12-2004, 09:41 AM
fuoriporta fuoriporta is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 28
fuoriporta is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by polyglot
Thanks, guys,

but as I read some bad stories about my USRobotics router,
I went to the shop this morning and exchanged it for
a linksys 2.4 GHz router. I installed it at home and it works like
a charm at first try.
One week after getting my 9500, I today discover the amazing
Opera browser as I write this post from my 9500.
What more can we ask?
is it really slow or with proper cache settings is fast?

  #6  
Old 15-12-2004, 03:39 PM
che4711 che4711 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6
che4711 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenkato
Maybe you can try decreasing the RTS & Fragmentation Threshold . I had a Linksys BEF11S4 & had the same problem but after I reduced them, it worked. Of course, plus I've switched the simultaneous bluetooth OFF.

Cheers.
Ken
Hi, Ken

Can you be more specific please? Where did you specify the Fragmentation Threshold ? (My WLAN Advanced settings only offer to change the RTS Threshold).

Which Settings do you use for both parameters?

Thanks, Christian

  #7  
Old 16-12-2004, 06:20 PM
salmony salmony is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2
salmony is on a distinguished road
Hi,

I also have problems connecting to my WiFi router at home. I have since changed it (for another reason) and I still have the problem. Other wireless devices connect fine to my router. So the problem is definitely inthe 9500.

I can connect to public WLANs - usually. Sometimes it's really slow and takes ages to download the first page. The connection os always rapid.

At home it also connects quickly but after a long time trying to download the web page it produces an error "Internet: could not find specified Internet server".

The only difference I have at home from public WLANs (that I can see) is that I have (128bit) WEP enabled.

Anyone have an idea how to get reliable downloads from *all* WLAN routers !?

Cheers
Michael

  #8  
Old 16-12-2004, 08:17 PM
bluestar bluestar is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 43
bluestar is on a distinguished road
Set your RTS to 248 and it will be all oK :-)
Further at home you should put DNS names in the 9500 and set up a fixed ip for it, it helped me fix all the pbs i had with my old graphite airporst station.

  #9  
Old 17-12-2004, 06:14 AM
Poly
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Talking Speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by fuoriporta
is it really slow or with proper cache settings is fast?

Fuoriporta,

it was slow but now with proper settings, it's fast.
Really great!

  #10  
Old 17-12-2004, 09:51 AM
TheJoker TheJoker is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Near Oxford
Posts: 170
TheJoker is on a distinguished road
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluestar
Set your RTS to 248 and it will be all oK :-)
Further at home you should put DNS names in the 9500 and set up a fixed ip for it, it helped me fix all the pbs i had with my old graphite airporst station.
Bluestar, can you explain a bit more.

I've got problems connecting my 9500 to my workstation, please see
http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/forum...ad.php?t=31550
... I've narrowed the problem down to that the 9500 can't resolve DNS entries. I can ping the 9500 and I can surf websites using IP numbers, but if I try using domain names, it won't load a page...

... Maybe you've got some good ideas?

Thanks!

  #11  
Old 17-12-2004, 01:22 PM
bluestar bluestar is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 43
bluestar is on a distinguished road
Did you set DNS manually in your 9500 ?
It worked for me, I have left the DHCP set the IP automatically to the 9500 but manually written the DNS IP in the advanced settings for my access point and all went ok.
In order to improve the speed I have set the RTS settings down to 248 in the WLAN advanced settings and connections are very good now from wherever I am (home, office or hot spots).

Hope it'll help you

  #12  
Old 17-12-2004, 06:50 PM
salmony salmony is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2
salmony is on a distinguished road
I found that the big improvement comes from setting simultaneous use of Bluetooth and WLAN = off.

I do sometimes have to press ESC and then re-call the bookmark (just clicking on the link, then waiting for the connection does not seem to take me there - I need to *remind* the 9500 to go there after the connect).

I did not have to change DNS or RTS settings.

There do seem to be a *lot* of things not quite working in the 9500 ... (I can give a list on demand ;-)

Michael
Ads

  #13  
Old 18-12-2004, 12:53 PM
vliow vliow is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2
vliow is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluestar
Did you set DNS manually in your 9500 ?
It worked for me, I have left the DHCP set the IP automatically to the 9500 but manually written the DNS IP in the advanced settings for my access point and all went ok.
In order to improve the speed I have set the RTS settings down to 248 in the WLAN advanced settings and connections are very good now from wherever I am (home, office or hot spots).

Hope it'll help you
I hope you can help me too. I have tried almost all combinations but will not work. I get connected to the WLAN but there is no response from the DNS server. I use a SMC Barricade AP Router. One other thing : if the Network Mode is set to Infrastructure it will not get connected at all. With Ad hoc, it is fine but will not get response from DNS server. I have configure the following : Auto retrieve IP - Yes, Auto receive DNS - both Yes and No (with specific addresses) and DHCP, it still does not work.

Need desperate help...it is really frustrating...

  #14  
Old 18-12-2004, 01:00 PM
vliow vliow is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2
vliow is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluestar
Did you set DNS manually in your 9500 ?
It worked for me, I have left the DHCP set the IP automatically to the 9500 but manually written the DNS IP in the advanced settings for my access point and all went ok.
In order to improve the speed I have set the RTS settings down to 248 in the WLAN advanced settings and connections are very good now from wherever I am (home, office or hot spots).

Hope it'll help you
Also, do you have any specific or better DNS addresses to suggest? I am not sure whether it is the AP router or 9500 (which I bought from Thailand). What kind of Hotspot apps do you have in your 9500, mine comes with a KSC Hotspot Apps? Since my 9500 is a Thai edition, I am not sure yours is the same.

  #15  
Old 28-12-2004, 09:03 AM
che4711 che4711 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6
che4711 is on a distinguished road
RTS=248 was the solution for me

The Hint to set RTS to 248 worked fine for me. Before that the 9500 often Sent ARP-Requests for the default gateway but didn't get an answer resulting in the Error Message "No Connection".

RTS=248 now work with both Accesspoints (Cisco AP-1200 which showed the Problem and Lucent RG-1000 which always worked like charm). The Cisco AP ist fixed to 2MBit, maybe timing is more critical there.

Regards, Christian
 

Bookmarks

Tags
problem, wifi

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
***W.S.O.D. Problem*** LOOK HERE FIRST IF YOU HAVE A PROBLEM!!!!!! i.love.ngage Nokia N-Gage and N-Gage QD 192 24-03-2008 07:53 PM
serious problem on my 6600 skullmania6x3 Nokia 6600 and 6620 11 09-11-2004 02:50 PM
7650 Display problem NotBillGates Nokia 7650 1 02-10-2004 05:08 PM
problem in profiles VanSen Nokia 3650, 3660, and 3620 1 05-08-2004 01:08 PM
WiFi Possibility zainman Nokia 7610 and 6670 2 03-08-2004 07:21 AM



All times are GMT. The time now is 11:44 PM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy