All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #31  
Old 29-09-2004, 05:38 PM
zainman's Avatar
zainman zainman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Pakistan
Posts: 640
zainman is on a distinguished road
ohh cmon! another 23mb? man! y cant they just include everything in the service packs? well if ur not sure cud u please find out? anyone else.. can u help? is that really what i need?

  #32  
Old 29-09-2004, 05:49 PM
SQueeZe SQueeZe is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 9
SQueeZe is on a distinguished road
i cant try it on any other of my pcs as they all have the framework installed....

i'm really sorry, I did in .net because I am learning it at the moment :-(

if anybody else has the answer......

  #33  
Old 29-09-2004, 07:07 PM
SQueeZe SQueeZe is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 9
SQueeZe is on a distinguished road
I have created a homepage with some clearer instructions here:

http://www.bits.bris.ac.uk/kevin/MP3AACConv/

  #34  
Old 30-09-2004, 02:22 PM
GhostDog's Avatar
GhostDog GhostDog is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Skopje,Macedonia
Posts: 6,356
GhostDog will become famous soon enough
What is the AAC quality bar in reference to,its not Kbps right?It would be a lot better if it was Kbps.There is a out.wav file left ofter conversion,maybe it should be automatically deleted.
__________________
www.symbiandiaries.com/ghostdog



Please don't PM me with something that belongs in the forums.Search first,then ask.

  #35  
Old 05-10-2004, 11:52 AM
SQueeZe SQueeZe is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 9
SQueeZe is on a distinguished road
Thanks for trying it GhostDog, much appreciated. I will change it so that it deletes the wave file.

as for the quality, I think it is FAAC's ABR setting so it isnt always perfect, but it should be reasonable. Dont want to give it an exact kbs as that would mean changing it to CBR which would decrease the quality.

Thanks again

Kevin

  #36  
Old 05-10-2004, 01:48 PM
GhostDog's Avatar
GhostDog GhostDog is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Skopje,Macedonia
Posts: 6,356
GhostDog will become famous soon enough
No problem,keep up the good work!
__________________
www.symbiandiaries.com/ghostdog



Please don't PM me with something that belongs in the forums.Search first,then ask.

  #37  
Old 21-10-2004, 02:06 PM
Nyxmorph's Avatar
Nyxmorph Nyxmorph is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 189
Nyxmorph is on a distinguished road
Hello,

only read this thread quite a good un will have to try the MP3 to AAC.

I happen to be a .NET programmer (I do VB.NET and ASP.NET). The .NET framework is included in SP2 for XP. But this is only definately in the full install version. It may be possible to do one of those minimum updates over the internet which doesn't include the .NET framework which could explain problems people are having. But machines here with the service pack now all have .NET on.

Hope this helps, cheers,
Nyx.

Last edited by Nyxmorph; 21-10-2004 at 02:24 PM.

  #38  
Old 16-11-2004, 03:31 PM
PaulRobo PaulRobo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6
PaulRobo is on a distinguished road
Every time i click on a track (click add track, then choose the file i want to add) in nokia audio manager it comes up with an error and closes. I have re installed pc suite over and over but again still no joy. I am trying to get some decent sounds onto my nokia 6670.

  #39  
Old 18-11-2004, 06:50 PM
raj07 raj07 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 22
raj07 is on a distinguished road
Question

If its supporting MP3 tones then is it required to convert

  #40  
Old 19-11-2004, 11:39 AM
zainman's Avatar
zainman zainman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Pakistan
Posts: 640
zainman is on a distinguished road
conversion is required to reduce the size as AAC are smaller files than MP3s
Ads

  #41  
Old 19-11-2004, 01:08 PM
PaulRobo PaulRobo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6
PaulRobo is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by SQueeZe
I have created a homepage with some clearer instructions here:

http://www.bits.bris.ac.uk/kevin/MP3AACConv/
I have used this to convert some mp3s but i find that a few of them will not play on my phone at all, but when i put them over as mp3's they are fine. I have deleted the tracks and converted them again but i still get the same error when trying to use them on my phone. I was putting them as ring tones, but it says ring tone format not accepted or whatever. But most of them are fine

  #42  
Old 19-11-2004, 06:59 PM
Mike vd Merwe
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Need Mp3 to AAC Converter

Im in serious need 4 the mp3 to aac converter, Ive been downloading programs 4 how long now but still can't get it right please could u help me in getting your program

  #43  
Old 20-11-2004, 09:01 AM
Vicky's Avatar
Vicky Vicky is offline
7610 Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,353
Vicky is on a distinguished road
i think this may help you.

http://www.download.com/3120-20-0.ht...ows&tag=search

  #44  
Old 23-11-2004, 04:36 AM
phatomboy phatomboy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1
phatomboy is on a distinguished road
anyway to work ard the 1 sided sound output thingy?

  #45  
Old 29-11-2004, 11:06 AM
hans-jürgen's Avatar
hans-jürgen hans-jürgen is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 6
hans-jürgen is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by fauji
i've been converting mp3's to aac for my 7610 with db poweramp. i too have found it very unreliable. which free software will allow me to convert aac's reliably?
dBpowerAMP uses the old PsyTEL FastEnc as default AAC codec, but this beta version was never tested for low bitrates, it only works reliable for presets -normal and above (~160 kbps/stereo). If you go to the dBpowerAMP Codec central, you will find several AAC/MP4 codecs, among them FAAC which should work reliable for lower bitrates.

But the GUI implementation in dBpowerAMP does not offer all FAAC options available in the command line version, so you might want to try other GUIs that have implemented FAAC: foobar2000 with foo_faac.dll plugin (the best in my opinion), Winamp 5.0x (either with internal or external AAC plugin), winLAME (no MP4 support, only AAC, but very easy to use), GX::Transcoder (needs faac.exe, too), Speek's "Ivan & Menno" (simple, but very effective for batch encoding from WAV) or Multi frontend from the same developer (direct transcoding from MP3), XMPlay, CoolEdit, CDex and HeadAC3he.

You can find more information about the open source codecs FAAC and FAAD2 (decoder) on their homepage and on the Knowledge Base/Wiki pages about them, see also the Wiki page about software audio players for Windows (including converters).

Quote:
i've also noticed that the aac's, when played on my 7610, do not allow the pause function. is anyone else experienceing this; the pause option becomes unselectable...?
Sorry, I don't have an answer for that.

Last edited by hans-jürgen; 29-11-2004 at 11:42 AM.
 

Bookmarks

Tags
aac, converting, mp3

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting mp3 P800 Sony Ericsson P800, P900 and P910 4 19-09-2004 06:36 PM
mp3 to aac tiboric Nokia N-Gage and N-Gage QD 2 24-12-2003 04:03 PM
Mp3 to aac?? Ismail Nokia 3650, 3660, and 3620 3 07-11-2003 08:07 PM
Mp3 to aac???? Ismail Nokia N-Gage and N-Gage QD 2 24-10-2003 11:52 AM
Anyone knows how to convert mp3 files to AAC format? Rhythm Of Life Nokia 3650, 3660, and 3620 1 21-07-2003 11:32 AM



All times are GMT. The time now is 12:28 AM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy