All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

Go Back   All About Symbian Forums > Symbian Based Devices > S60 (Series 60) > Nokia N95 and N95 8GB

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

  #16  
Old 08-04-2008, 07:31 AM
Ben Frain Ben Frain is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 79
Ben Frain is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by dorisall View Post
this is wierd after I updated NSU, NSS will not read the values again..........spooooooky. Anyway for the people who updated does the new firmware allow UDP or whatever it is called that keeps your data intact ???
As discussed above - you will need to do the NSS product code switching on a machine that hasn't got the latest NSU on.

With regards UDP - I would guess not. I read a thread on the Nokia discussions site, and I quote...

"Well... the new firmware is working fine, yes... But even though I did a backup-upgrade-restore procedure some of my programs lost their settings, and one or two programs disappeared altogether... :-/
I also have the N-Gage 'file not found' issue, mentioned in some other posts.

I'm seriously considering an install from scratch..."

  #17  
Old 08-04-2008, 11:23 AM
chrisa86 chrisa86 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 26
chrisa86 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Frain View Post
I believe he means, having updated using the other code, he has set his phone back to the EURO1 code.
oh yes, sorry that's what i meant... i took it back to the other machine and changed the code back to EURO1.

  #18  
Old 08-04-2008, 11:39 AM
Ben Frain Ben Frain is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 79
Ben Frain is on a distinguished road
Auto rotation is great, very impressed.

Only problem I have is that Conversation won't launch. chrisa86 - do you have this problem?

  #19  
Old 08-04-2008, 01:24 PM
Waynester's Avatar
Waynester Waynester is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 52
Waynester is on a distinguished road
I CANT UPDATE USING NSS

eveytime i go to Phone info and press SCAN, it just says

Scan for product..............error!


whats going on?

  #20  
Old 08-04-2008, 01:33 PM
Ben Frain Ben Frain is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 79
Ben Frain is on a distinguished road
Waynester - are you serious????? Read the thread!

  #21  
Old 08-04-2008, 01:34 PM
Waynester's Avatar
Waynester Waynester is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 52
Waynester is on a distinguished road
very serious............. why?

  #22  
Old 08-04-2008, 01:42 PM
Ben Frain Ben Frain is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 79
Ben Frain is on a distinguished road
Because we have already dealt with that problem twice!

  #23  
Old 08-04-2008, 01:45 PM
Waynester's Avatar
Waynester Waynester is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 52
Waynester is on a distinguished road
i know that already, but my NSS wont even scan for phone info, it just says error!!!!!!!!!

this is not the problem you have mentioned!

  #24  
Old 08-04-2008, 01:50 PM
Ben Frain Ben Frain is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 79
Ben Frain is on a distinguished road
If you have already updated your Nokia Software Updater it is. Have you? That is exactly the same problem I and others have had. You will need to run NSS on a system that you have not upgraded the Nokia Software Updater on.

Have you updated Nokia Software Updater on the same machine?

  #25  
Old 08-04-2008, 02:25 PM
Waynester's Avatar
Waynester Waynester is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 52
Waynester is on a distinguished road
ALL SORTED NOW THANKS!

updated on my other PC and just installing new firmware to version 20

is Version 20 a lot better?

i guess i will have to change language to english as i have changed product code to 0558086 which is Norwegian

this is sound ok to you then?

  #26  
Old 08-04-2008, 08:09 PM
baconroll baconroll is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 109
baconroll is on a distinguished road
this really sucks - how come the Norway code is available and not the Euro1? Also - was gonna update to Norway until someone said you need to update NSU 1st because Euro 1 was available! How long we got to wait for the Euro1 code - anyone know?
Ads

  #27  
Old 08-04-2008, 08:10 PM
theuniboy theuniboy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
theuniboy is on a distinguished road
It seems you guys changed your product codes unnecessarily. My UK code handset is now updatable. Just restoring my settings as I type.

  #28  
Old 08-04-2008, 08:15 PM
baconroll baconroll is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 109
baconroll is on a distinguished road
I havent changed my code I have the code of 0549487 which is Euro1 - how can you be updating yours, Euro 1 is still not available, please explain, thanks

  #29  
Old 08-04-2008, 08:26 PM
theuniboy theuniboy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
theuniboy is on a distinguished road
My product code is 0558787 which is apparently a special UK code for 'N95 8GB UK CV Warm Black' - the reason for the different code for is to do with it coming with Spider-man 3 according to some forums. Anyway, I checked this morning and it still wasn't available but by 7pm tonight when I checked again it was.

I just had a look and Euro 1 still isn't though, you are right!

I guess it will appear in the next few days. They seem to be doing smaller batch codes first for some reason.

  #30  
Old 08-04-2008, 08:38 PM
baconroll baconroll is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 109
baconroll is on a distinguished road
ok thanks mine came with spider man on O2 and it didnt have that code it had 0559497 so guess i will have to wait - btw, does it work and whats it like?
 

Bookmarks

Tags
8gb, code, n95, product, upgraded, v20

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nokia N95 8GB NAM - How to change the Product Code? zonew Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 19 30-10-2008 09:41 AM
N95 Product Code FAQs and how to change your product code [all debranding] stuclark Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 0 30-11-2007 02:16 PM
Nokia N95 8GB product code with russian? GSMtricks Nokia N95 and N95 8GB 0 28-10-2007 06:38 PM



All times are GMT. The time now is 12:43 PM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy