All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 29-01-2008, 05:58 PM
strobez1977 strobez1977 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 43
strobez1977 is on a distinguished road
nokia maps not working right now since software update

Hi for some reason my nokia maps wont find where i am or find a satalite signal,this happend since i updated the software on my phone,is there somthing im doing wrong?im with 3 network but since i updated the software i lost most of the 3 apps but surly that would stop the nokia maps working right.


thanks

  #2  
Old 29-01-2008, 06:01 PM
snuge's Avatar
snuge snuge is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 230
snuge is on a distinguished road
could be just something simple. have you left it 5 minutes to connect to a satalite sometimes it can take a bit. or are you in a place that has open skies above. it can be quite temperamental sometimes

  #3  
Old 29-01-2008, 09:21 PM
dog-man dog-man is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 370
dog-man is on a distinguished road
I had the same problem.

I had to reinstall the maps as they were not installed when I did the firmware update.


dog-man

  #4  
Old 30-01-2008, 06:46 PM
strobez1977 strobez1977 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 43
strobez1977 is on a distinguished road
ive just uploaded the latest uk maps from the nokia website and its still not finding a satalite signal,how long should i let it find a signal for?

  #5  
Old 30-01-2008, 06:55 PM
bartmanekul bartmanekul is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,653
bartmanekul is on a distinguished road
I realise some of this might not apply, but its useful when trying to get a GPS signal. Taken from N95 users (but I wrote it), have a read through and some might help.

Deciding to use AGPS
AGPS (Assisted GPS) vastly improves lock on time for getting a GPS lock. It does use a small amount of data, usually around 3-6 KB worth. This is a very tiny amount of data, so you only need to worry about this if you donít have a data plan and your data cost is high. The aGPS function only requires data to be downloaded when getting a lock and does not use a constant data download. If you don't loose GPS lock then you shouldn't see more than a tiny amount of data being used.

Getting a lock:
First, check AGPS is enabled. First, go to - Settings - phone settings - General - positioning. In there, under positioning server - server address check you have exactly this: supl.nokia.com Note there is no 'www', A few new phones I have seen now have had something else, which didnít work. Once changed, AGPS worked fine.
Make sure your access point is correct; this is whatever method used to connect to the net on your phone, obviously operator defined.
In positioning methods tick -
Assisted GPS
and
Integrated GPS

Do NOT tick the others, network based isnít much good and only Bluetooth if you intend to use a Bluetooth GPS receiver. If so, Bluetooth only should be ticked.

If you still do not get a lock after 30 minutes when you have done the following:
* Made sure AGPS is on, and it has all the correct settings,
* Have the phone open, at the right angle, in open sky,
* Have left it not moving,
Then chances are thereís a problem with the GPS receiver. It has been reported to have been a problem with the arial/contacts. If itís under warranty, its worth trying to get it replaced/fixed. If its not, or your feeling brave, you can attempt to fix/clean it yourself, which has solved the issue for some people.

  #6  
Old 30-01-2008, 07:12 PM
strobez1977 strobez1977 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 43
strobez1977 is on a distinguished road
thanks for the help,im using the unlimited internet addon with 3 network so that should be ok if it needs to connect,ive set it to conect via 3 wap,is that ok?i changed it to that in the nokia map settings

  #7  
Old 30-01-2008, 07:50 PM
munkiii munkiii is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: England
Posts: 267
munkiii is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by strobez1977 View Post
thanks for the help,im using the unlimited internet addon with 3 network so that should be ok if it needs to connect,ive set it to conect via 3 wap,is that ok?i changed it to that in the nokia map settings
i don't know what your other options are, but i wouldn't think "3 WAP" would be the correct choice.

something like "3 Internet" maybe?
Ads

  #8  
Old 31-01-2008, 08:02 AM
gerrit gerrit is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 38
gerrit is on a distinguished road
I find if Im not getting a lock I use the Basic GPS Data to get one that tells you it is searching for Saterlites and calculating. Atleast you know its doing something.

I regularly run 2 or 3 GPS Programs at once and find, it doesnot ignificantly decrease Battery life and if 1 has a position they all do...

Hope this helps

Gerrit
__________________
Past Phones: Motoroller (Funky Blue Pebble Shaped one), Motoroller Time Port, SE P900, D500, Nokia N80, Nokia N95. And ithought I was not a techno Geek.

Last edited by gerrit; 31-01-2008 at 08:05 AM.
 

Bookmarks

Tags
maps, nokia, software, update, working

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[HOT][NEW] N80 RM-92 IE APAC PR v15.00 SW4.0632.0.38 juato4 Nokia N80 176 25-04-2007 03:19 PM



All times are GMT. The time now is 01:50 PM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy