All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

  #1  
Old 03-09-2008, 12:14 PM
johnwilson09 johnwilson09 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
johnwilson09 is on a distinguished road
Menu title with green sphere and blue cube, making icons too small

Hi there,

I'm using a Nokia N95 8GB, S60v3, just updated to firmware version 20.

I have a problem with the menu since updating the firmware. Now at the top of the screen it says "Menu", with a green sphere, blue cube and white lines between them. This takes up much more of the menu space than the alternative, smaller version.

Before updating the firmware I was able to remove the big title by simply going to Options... Exit. Well now I can't do that, so I'm stuck with really tiny icons in the entire menu system.

Is there any way I can change the menu back? The icons looks much better when they aren't as small! I have attached a screenshot to illustrate the title bit at the top of the screen:



Thanks if anyone can help!

  #2  
Old 03-09-2008, 12:25 PM
Liam548's Avatar
Liam548 Liam548 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 846
Liam548 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnwilson09 View Post
Hi there,

I'm using a Nokia N95 8GB, S60v3, just updated to firmware version 20.

I have a problem with the menu since updating the firmware. Now at the top of the screen it says "Menu", with a green sphere, blue cube and white lines between them. This takes up much more of the menu space than the alternative, smaller version.

Before updating the firmware I was able to remove the big title by simply going to Options... Exit. Well now I can't do that, so I'm stuck with really tiny icons in the entire menu system.

Is there any way I can change the menu back? The icons looks much better when they aren't as small! I have attached a screenshot to illustrate the title bit at the top of the screen:



Thanks if anyone can help!
I had this issue when I upgraded took ages for people to know what I was even on about.

Basically the answer I got was the previous versions which didnt have the icon were faulty and should have had the icon, hence why they did sometimes when you turned the phone on and other times it did not.

So it is suppose to be there.

Im pleased to say mine has not had any faults since upgrading and V20 is still the latest firmware for the n95 8gb!
__________________

  #3  
Old 03-09-2008, 12:41 PM
johnwilson09 johnwilson09 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
johnwilson09 is on a distinguished road
Thanks for your reply Liam. That's really disappointing, I was hoping the situation was the other way round! In my opinion the menu looks much better without the larger title at the top.

I wonder if there is a config file anywhere that could be hacked? Way beyond my knowledge...

  #4  
Old 03-09-2008, 02:29 PM
Liam548's Avatar
Liam548 Liam548 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 846
Liam548 is on a distinguished road
yeah. if you try a search under my name or Liam182 on nokia.co.uk forums there are plenty of replies discussing it.
__________________

  #5  
Old 03-09-2008, 03:13 PM
ironass's Avatar
ironass ironass is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cotswolds, U.K.
Posts: 1,508
ironass is on a distinguished road
Try here:-

http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/forum...ad.php?t=70608

or here:-

http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/forum...ad.php?t=71846

  #6  
Old 03-09-2008, 04:15 PM
Dechen's Avatar
Dechen Dechen is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 2
Dechen is on a distinguished road
Removing the menu icon

While in the menu screen, where the menu icon is showing:
- click on Options
- select Icon animation
- select "off"

I have a Nokia N95-4 (8GB) that I recently updated to firmware V 20.2.005 using NSS. The menu icon at the top left corner appeared afterwards.

Hope this helps as it worked for me.

  #7  
Old 03-09-2008, 04:31 PM
argh argh is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 273
argh is on a distinguished road
Changing the icon animation did nothing for me (although just using an N95-1).

I actually really dislike the whole "big title bar at the top of the screen" which I suppose must be a Nokia/S60/Symbian style guideline.

I almost invariably find it to be wasted space when a smaller title would suffice.

Edit: do you have a picture of the screen without the icon for comparison?
Ads

  #8  
Old 03-09-2008, 04:33 PM
Casperuk's Avatar
Casperuk Casperuk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 330
Casperuk is on a distinguished road
didn't work on the n95 on v21 i have

  #9  
Old 03-09-2008, 04:40 PM
ironass's Avatar
ironass ironass is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cotswolds, U.K.
Posts: 1,508
ironass is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dechen View Post
While in the menu screen, where the menu icon is showing:
- click on Options
- select Icon animation
- select "off"

I have a Nokia N95-4 (8GB) that I recently updated to firmware V 20.2.005 using NSS. The menu icon at the top left corner appeared afterwards.

Hope this helps as it worked for me.
Do you have Auto Rotation on that version (i.e. Rotate Me)?
I have an N95-2 (8GB) on firmware version 20, which is the latest for the Euro1 phone, and this, Auto Rotate, is what has made the Menu icon reappear. Cannot turn it off by disabling icon animation.

Personally, I like the icon and larger bars for signal and battery.

  #10  
Old 03-09-2008, 04:48 PM
Liam548's Avatar
Liam548 Liam548 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 846
Liam548 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by ian-ross@beeb.n View Post
Do you have Auto Rotation on that version (i.e. Rotate Me)?
I have an N95-2 (8GB) on firmware version 20, which is the latest for the Euro1 phone, and this, Auto Rotate, is what has made the Menu icon reappear. Cannot turn it off by disabling icon animation.

Personally, I like the icon and larger bars for signal and battery.
auto rotate didnt make it appear auto rotate was introduced on v20 and v20 also fixed the "bug" of the icon not being shown like in earlier verions.
__________________

  #11  
Old 03-09-2008, 05:02 PM
johnwilson09 johnwilson09 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
johnwilson09 is on a distinguished road
Enabled or disabling auto-rotate didn't change it for me either.

It just seems like a waste of space to make every icon on the menu smaller, just for the sake of a larger title.

  #12  
Old 03-09-2008, 05:50 PM
ironass's Avatar
ironass ironass is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cotswolds, U.K.
Posts: 1,508
ironass is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liam548 View Post
auto rotate didnt make it appear auto rotate was introduced on v20 and v20 also fixed the "bug" of the icon not being shown like in earlier verions.
That's what I said didn't I???

  #13  
Old 03-09-2008, 06:09 PM
Liam548's Avatar
Liam548 Liam548 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 846
Liam548 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by ian-ross@beeb.n View Post
That's what I said didn't I???
sorry Ian yes you did. Read your post wrong thought you were saying auto rotate is what made the icon reappear.

__________________
 

Bookmarks

Tags
blue, cube, green, icons, making, menu, small, sphere, title

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:16 PM.


vBulletin skins developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Notes || Contact Us || Privacy Policy