All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

Old 07-03-2010, 08:08 PM

Autotragisk is on a distinguished road
To buy or not to buy the Nokia E72

Hi im new here and perhaps many of you are to much friends of Nokia but i hope i can receive honest answers. Im thinking of buying a new smartphone. Some of the requirements i have is the following

1. Working camera, that can photo documents (macro), some videorecording
2. Excellent keyboard (qwerty)
3. Good battery for longtime use
4. Stable firmware
5. Applications to record voice calls (with no tone or beep etc)
6. Should be futureproof, 2-3 years at least (build quality, battery and new firmwares)

Ive looked alot on android phones, i really like them but they mostly have bad battery time and lousy voice recording aka you need to have loudspeaker on to record calls. Im a freelance journalist and the phone hopefully could replace my now old and lousy phone and dictaphone. Having loudspeaker on when an important call is made is a big no-no especially when sensitive information is discussed.

It seems the Nokia E72 is a good product for my demands but ive read ALOT of complaints, escpecially against the buggy firmwares (that seems to fix some issues but also making new ones). Nokia have had a history of fixing their phones over years with better and better firmware but it seems the E72 has alot of problems and firmwares have been released but many still complain. Will the E72 be supported in the future, will they try to fix it? Ive read that the E71 is alot more stable but it has worse hardware and a 2,5mm audio-out.

Give me good arguments

Sincerely

Jim

Old 28-03-2010, 05:07 PM

moserw is on a distinguished road
Barring point 5 i.e. record calls I can as an E72 user tell you it performs great in all the other areas and by far its the best phone I've used.

Old 14-04-2010, 03:51 PM

deadkenny is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Autotragisk View Post