All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

Old 21-05-2010, 01:51 PM

DMB1 is on a distinguished road
New 97 Mini - Worth Debranding?

Hi all im new to this forum. Today i just purchased a brand new mini on vodafone. What i was wondering is it worth debranding and voiding the warranty as i want to use it on o2. I've tried searching the forum but couldn't find anything directly other than people bricking their phone.

What differences is there? Is it just the vodafone logo flashing up on start up?

Also can anyone recommend a case/cover to put on it. Sorry for the questions im a complete novice

Thanks

Mark

Old 21-05-2010, 02:36 PM

ironass is on a distinguished road
If your phone is "locked" to Vodafone then I'm afraid that de-branding will not change that fact.

Old 21-05-2010, 02:50 PM

it can take an o2 sim, what im wondering is what all does the vodafone branding bring to the phone apart from on start up. Cheers for the reply by the way

Old 21-05-2010, 06:12 PM

dez_borders is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by DMB1 View Post
Hi all im new to this forum. Today i just purchased a brand new mini on vodafone. What i was wondering is it worth debranding and voiding the warranty as i want to use it on o2. I've tried searching the forum but couldn't find anything directly other than people bricking their phone.
You can de-brand either by changing the product code to Euro-1 then running NSU, or by using Phonix offline, but both methods invalidate the warranty.

Unless you have problems with the Vodafone FW, personally, I would leave it well alone.

Old 21-05-2010, 08:27 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by dez_borders View Post
You can de-brand either by changing the product code to Euro-1 then running NSU, or by using Phonix offline, but both methods invalidate the warranty.

Unless you have problems with the Vodafone FW, personally, I would leave it well alone.
Cheers mate

Old 22-05-2010, 10:42 AM