All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

Old 24-02-2008, 04:11 PM

Mind_Rx is on a distinguished road
My experience with E51 - first two weeks

Hi,

I have been selfish so far and have always "looked for answers" rather than offering some on this forum. And I am not claiming that I will change that dramatically in this post, but I thought I would share my experience with the Nokia E51 in the 2 weeks I have had it.

First of all, its a T mobile upgrade phone I managed to get for free-silver(the colour I prefer). I chose this phone as the one I wanted to migrate to from windows mobile. Initially, I had thought about the E90(I want the biggest, meanest phone attitude-The phone I hope to leave is the HTC TyTn II). Then I realised that I really needed to assess my needs and opt for a phone that would match most of them.

I am a doctor and use my phone moderately to receive and make calls. I also use my phone for PIM, email, light internet browsing, making short notes, very occasionally using GPS(I want to have one when I need one). I also want something smart(read professional), compact(read-dont need anything to compromise my already unflattering body shape) and most importantly something that WILL WORK WHEN I NEED IT TO WORK.

I have had some 2-3 years experience with windows mobile/PPC and palm os(treo 650). I love the functionality of the apps like Pocket informant, SPB products, Pocket Alarm, etc. But overall, I found my experience with Windows Mobile disappointing for various reasons -
1. Ever frequent hang ups
2. Things always dont work as they should
3. Apps too complicated for their own good
4. Touch interface is not always a good thing-this is a general complaint. I think, button presses are far more confidence inspiring than screen touch manipulation. We are getting there(re:iphone) but I will wait for a couple of years. I never liked using styli.