All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

Old 02-03-2006, 09:19 PM

charlieB is on a distinguished road
Playing Movies on the N70

Im New to the nokia N70 and it looks like it's more complicated than I thought. I want to play a movie that i bought on a reduced size MMC from carphone warehouse. When I try to play it i get a message "your phone (10200f9a) is not supported by this player (3.22)". Real Player does not play the file.

Do I need to install software to view this and if so what do you recomend. Very frustraing as Im really keen to see the quality and still havent cracked it.

Old 02-03-2006, 10:21 PM

Airwalker is on a distinguished road
If Real Player won't play it, then you will need to either convert it to a compatible format or install alternative software. What kind of file are you trying to play? (MP4, DivX, Mpeg, etc?)

Old 03-03-2006, 09:23 PM

Thanks for the reply.

Im not sure what the format is. When I try to explore the disc on XP it looks like the file is empty, but the phone shows the film icon (eg spiderman) so it must have some files. Ive contacted carphone warehouse so im witing for a reply there. Im sure it will all work out, but its very frustrating that the phone is advertised as playing movies but its not as straight forward as they make out.

Old 05-03-2006, 05:46 PM
Administrator

slitchfield is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by charlieB
Thanks for the reply.

Im not sure what the format is. When I try to explore the disc on XP it looks like the file is empty, but the phone shows the film icon (eg spiderman) so it must have some files. Ive contacted carphone warehouse so im witing for a reply there. Im sure it will all work out, but its very frustrating that the phone is advertised as playing movies but its not as straight forward as they make out.