All About Symbian - Nokia (S60) and Sony Ericsson (UIQ) smartphones unwrapped

Old 02-04-2010, 09:37 AM

xerxes is on a distinguished road
Will the N97 or Mini be better for me?

Hi,

I have been using an iPhone 3GS for the last 9 months, mainly because I could only use an iPhone or Blackberry with my work servers. My company has now opened up a bit and I can go back to an S60 device if I choose, something I'd like to do because I'm a bit sick of the iPhone's limitations.

My question is whether either the N97 or Mini would be able to cope with the work load I would put on it given the Ram and battery issues I have read about.

My average day would be

1. Push email all day (usually send and receive 25 - 50 mails per day and I would use Profimail not Ovi Messaging so not too concerned about C: being chewed up
2. PIM sync (OTA syncml) once per hour
3. About 2-3 hrs phone calls per day
4. About 2 hrs web browsing per day, probably Opera or Opera Mini
5. 20-30 texts per day
6. Occasional pictures/video/Google Maps/Ovi Maps

What are your thoughts?

Also, does anyone know of a way to make Podcasting run automatically at a preset time? I'd like to set it up to run at 1am so it can download my podcasts in time for my morning commute. I have found an app called Mobile Task which would do this on my N95 but I don't think there is a version for S60 5th yet.

Last edited by xerxes; 02-04-2010 at 10:27 AM. Reason: Added another question

Old 02-04-2010, 11:05 AM

zxon is on a distinguished road
You can compare the two phones side-by-side at the following website:

http://mobilenews.omio.com/mobile-ph...hone-face-off/

This might help you decide which one to get. To further help, based on your average daily requirements, here are my thoughts: